Commitment to Mission

Achieving this mission requires constant and varied training and much hard work. To ease the complexity of achieving these goals, the department has put together this organizational statement: We recognize this manual will not be perfect and will be changed from time to time as circumstances dictate.  However, if everyone studies and attempts to follow these procedures, then operations should prove easier to accomplish.

Each June the department will set goals to attain for the coming year.  A review will be conducted each May to determine how close we came to meeting those goals. All goals will be in-line with our department’s mission statement. Although it is rarely possible for any organization to attain all of its goals, the willingness to set goals shows we will continue to strive to improve our department. 

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 298, Fayetteville, WV 25840

Physical Address:
150 Lively St., Fayetteville, WV 25840

Telephone: 304.574.0712

Fire Chief History

  • J.Ray Caldwell, 1935-1937
  • F.E. Morris, 1938-1948
  • Edward Radford, 1948-1951
  • Robert Brooks, 1951-1954
  • Roy Cruikshank, 1954-1961
  • Houston “Wheat” Wendell, 1961-1976
  • Steve Cruikshank, 1976-1985
  • John Vernon, 1985-Present