The Historic Landmark Commission consists of five members who shall be appointed by the Mayor. Commission members shall serve for three years. Members shall have the power and duty to approve all plans submitted to projects that lie within the Historic District. Individuals who are interested in serving on this board should have experience or education in history, architecture, planning, real estate or law, to the extent such persons are available in the community.